FAQs

For all questions regarding billing, shipping & mailing, privacy & security, the evaluation process and some common FAQs about medical marijuana/cannabis, check out the Get Your Rec page, where we answer the most commonly-asked questions as they pertain to getting a medical marijuana recommendation and/or MMJ card. If you’re looking for answers on specific states’ laws regarding medical marijuana (or “cannabis”, as we prefer to call it), check out our State Guide.

Is marijuana/cannabis legal in California? What about the rest of the United States?

Yes, cannabis is legal in California, as long as the person is not carrying too much and is aged 21 or over (18 or over for medical marijuana patients). However, cannabis is still federally illegal, and you cannot carry it over state lines, even between two legal states. Alaska, Colorado, Maine, Massachusetts, Nevada, Oregon, Vermont, Washington and the state district of Washington,. D.C. also have legal recreational and medical marijuana. Arizona, Florida, Hawaii, Michigan, New Mexico, North Dakota, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Maryland, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Rhode Island, West Virginia and the U.S. territories of Guam and Puerto Rico have medical marijuana laws in place. Some of these states have also decriminalized non-medical possession to some extent, but that still means fines and felony charges.

How much cannabis can I carry?

Technically, a medical marijuana patient can possess on themselves “as much as is deemed necessary”, but we don’t recommend testing this theory out when it comes to extreme amounts! Those without a medical marijuana card may carry up to a maximum of 1 ounce (28.5 grams) of dried cannabis flower/bud, or 8 grams of cannabis in concentrated form (waxes, butters, hash, edibles, tinctures etc.). If you are carrying 14.25 grams of cannabis flower, you may only possess a maximum of 4 grams of concentrate.

Can I get a medical marijuana recommendation and card online?

You sure can, with Doctor Frank! Just head on over to our Get Your Rec page and get started. Just ensure you have a working microphone, camera and internet connection, and you can get talking to one of the doctors at Doctor Frank’s within a few minutes after signing up.

How old do I have to be in order to apply for a medical marijuana card?

You must be aged 18 or over in order to apply for a medical marijuana card, whether for yourself or as a caregiver.

What do I need to have for my evaluation?

  • Photographic ID (e.g. driver’s permit/license or a passport)
  • Proof of address (e.g. utility bill, mortgage/rental agreement, bank statement)
  • Helpful but not always necessary – medical records (e.g. patient history, doctor’s notes, imaging/scan results; list of other medications being taken can also be helpful)

 

What conditions qualify me for medical marijuana?

In California, suffering from one or more of the following may qualify you for medical marijuana/cannabis:

 

Can physicians at Doctor Frank’s recommend patients in other states?

No. California state laws only allow physicians licensed by California to practice medicine. All other US states follow similar rules, as far as we know. Doctor Frank himself is licensed to practice in California and Nevada.

How much does it cost to get a medical marijuana recommendation and card?

$49 for just the physician’s recommendation letter. $59 for both the recommendation letter and medical marijuana card (subject to change). Growers’ Permits are no longer recommended.

Unfortunately, answering all of your health-related medical marijuana questions on one page would be an almost impossible task. That’s why we have a “Conditions” page where we go through cannabis’s use for many different conditions, a Study you can download and take a look at, and a blog section entitled Science and Health, where we answer these questions in more detail.

Didn’t find what you’re looking for? Check out our glossary or more on about us.