Michigan allows for medical marijuana use, and has done so since 2008. However, Michigan has a zero-tolerance rule, and marijuana is listed as a Schedule 1 narcotic. The City of Keego Harbor voted to legalize marijuana for those 21 and older, with a limit of one ounce (28g) being allowed to be carried, and only in non-public places. Basically, if you use marijuana, keep it at home (which is pretty good advice for most states where medical marijuana is legal).
Despite the fact that Michigan has a zero-tolerance policy, it has more dispensaries than even some states in the US that have slightly more tolerant medical and recreational marijuana laws.
For anyone looking to come to California who’s in need of a Medical Marijuana Card, book an appointment and have a chat with Dr. Frank, online or in-person. If your state offers telehealth, Dr. Frank may be able to consult with your primary doctor or surgeon as well.
For those in need of medical cannabis, here’s how to get a Medical Marijuana Card in Michigan:
1.Go to Your Doctor
You will need to obtain legitimate medical records from your primary care physician. Your physician must be licensed to practice in the state of Michigan in order to recommend you medical marijuana.
2. Determine Whether You Have a Qualifying Condition
Should you have a medical record with a long history detailing your condition, you may not need too much clarification, just confirmation. Should you suffer from or suspect you suffer from the following conditions may want to consider applying for a Michigan Medical Marijuana Card:
- Hepatitis C
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Crohn’s disease
- Parkinson’s disease
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Nail patella
- Cachexia/wasting syndrome
- Severe or chronic pain
- Severe nausea
- Seizures, such as those arising from epilepsy
- Multiple sclerosis (MS)
- Any other condition determined by your doctor and those considering your application to be acceptable for medical marijuana use
3. Get Your Physician’s Statement
Once your physical and mental examination is over and your condition confirmed, your general practitioner (GP) will sign you a written Physician’s Statement recommending you for marijuana use.
4. Fill Out Your Application
Once you have a Physician’s Statement, you will be required to fill out an application form. Once completed, you must attach the following to your form:
- Photographic ID (e.g. driver’s license, Michigan photo identification)
- Proof of residency in Michigan (e.g. rent or mortgage agreement, bank statement, utility bill)
- Physician’s Statement
- Caregiver’s Attestation, photo ID and proof of residency (if applicable)
- Registration fee of $60 – either cheque or standing order
Completed application forms (with caregiver details if applicable) should be sent to:
Michigan Medical Marijuana Program
Bureau of Professional Licensing
PO Box 30083
Lansing, MI 48909
Email: [email protected]
5. Await Your Card
Michigan’s Medical Marijuana Cards are usually issued within 15 days of receipt of completed application. Once you have your Medical Marijuana Card, you may use it alongside your Physician’s Statement to use Michigan’s medical cannabis dispensaries.