Minnesota law treats marijuana as a controlled substance and recreational marijuana is still illegal. Meaning you there are penalties for possession, use and dealing. Possession of more than 42.5g in Minnesota will land you with a felony, less than 42.5g and you will receive a $200 fine unless you are registered as a patient. While medical marijuana was legalized in Minnesota, this will only be prepared in the form of liquid, pill or vaporized.
For anyone looking to come to California who’s in need of a Medical Marijuana Card, book an appointment and have a chat with Dr. Frank, online or in-person. If your state offers telehealth, Dr. Frank may be able to consult with your primary doctor or surgeon as well.
Here is how to get a MMJ card in Minnesota:
1.Get Your Records
Obtain a copy of your medical records, showing any history of any genuine qualifying conditions you may have. Currently in Minnesota, you will be likely to receive medical cannabis if you suffer with:
- Cancer, associated with severe or chronic pain, nausea or severe vomiting, or cachexia or severe wasting syndrome
- Tourette’s syndrome
- ALS (amyotrophic lateral sclerosis) or Lou Gehrig’s Disease
- Seizures, including those characteristic of Epilepsy
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms
- Multiple sclerosis
- Crohn’s disease
- Terminal illness with a life expectancy of less than one year: if your illness or its treatment produces one or more of the following: severe or chronic pain; nausea or severe vomiting; or cachexia or severe wasting
- Intractable pain, effective August 2016.
2. Book Your Doctor’s Appointment
Schedule an appointment with a Minnesota licensed doctor or advanced practice registered nurse. You will need to go to The Office of Medical Cannabis website at and print and fill out the “Patient E-mail and Acknowledgment” form. Bring this form along with you to your appointment and give it to your healthcare practitioner. The doctor or nurse will confirm your need for medical cannabis by logging into the Minnesota Department of Health’s website, which will approve your certification.
3. During Your Visit
Ask your practitioner for an appointment summary and a list of the medications that are currently prescribed to you, if any. You will need these documents when you collect your medical cannabis.
After you receive a certification email from OMC, containing:
- Confirmation of your condition by your health-care practitioner
- Your registration link for the medical cannabis patient registry
You will be ready to register as a patient with the Minnesota Department of Health. To do this you must have to hand:
- Government-issued ID: state ID, driver’s license or passport
- Government Assisted Plan ID, if applicable
- Camera to capture/scan images of your IDs on the registry website
- Credit/debit card or check
- Registration is mandatory and there will be a fee of $200 to pay annually. The fee is $50 for patients with a government assisted plan ID. When your application has been approved you will be able to set up an account.
5. Log On
You will find locations of various centre’s and prices of medical cannabis in your area. Next you will fill out a self-evaluation form, take this with you and go to a Cannabis Patient Centre. Where a pharmacist will tell you their recommendations on dosage and type, upon review of your account.